Teaching Grants

Grants for Instructional Innovation

The CTL offers the following grant opportunities for faculty:


Ottilie Schillig Special Teaching Projects



The Ottilie Schillig Special Teaching Projects grant program provides financial support to encourage new ideas for improving undergraduate teaching. Through this program, innovative teaching activities and/or materials for which the usual financial resources do not exist or cannot be used can receive financial support.  Proposed projects should create opportunities that otherwise would not exist and should also address continuing benefits to the department and college.  Proposals must have a pedagogical focus or they will not be considered for funding.


Individuals who hold academic status as Instructor, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, or Professor are eligible to receive funds through this program.  A group of faculty members may also submit a proposal with a single member designated as “principal proposer.” Normally, no more than one award will be given to a proposer in a 24 month period.  Proposals are solicited in the spring of each academic year.

Proposal Application

The proposal narrative should be no more than three pages in length (a total of four pages with the cover page), including supporting documents.  Download the Schillig cover page here and include it as the first page of your proposal. Include a descriptive title for your project. A well-written narrative of a proposed project should include the following:

  1.  A description and explanation of the activities for the proposed project, including timeline.
  2.  An explanation of how the project will improve undergraduate teaching and an estimate of how many students will be affected in a typical year.
  3.  Materials needed for the project. 
  4.  A rationale for requesting funds:
    1.  How the proposed activities/materials differ from those currently used.
    2.  Budget and amount of funding requested, in broad categories.

Budget expenditures may include anything normally considered to be a valid use of gift fund belonging to Mississippi State University.  Salaries, wages, or recurring cost my not be included.

A clear and understandable proposed budget should provide sufficient detail of anticipated expenditures in the broad categories of travel, contractual, commodities, and equipment.  All equipment purchased with a proposal will belong to Mississippi State University.  The total amount requested should not exceed $3000.  If a proposal is of significant merit, larger award amounts will be considered.

The opportunity for association with other funds, particularly matching or cost share funds, will be favorably viewed by evaluators.  If you have matching or cost share funds, make sure the department head signs the cover page. Any proposed travel should demonstrate contributions to undergraduate teaching, but keep in mind that sustainability is a criterion that reviewers consider.

Schedule and Process

Proposals will initially be ranked by the principal proposer’s college/school and those rankings will be forwarded to the evaluation committee.  The evaluation committee will be composed of individuals represents a cross section of the university, including recent recipients of teaching awards and Giles Distinguished Professors.

Proposals must be submitted electronically as a PDF document to the Center for Teaching and Learning by email to SchilligAward@msstate.edu by Wednesday, March 17, 2021.  Proposal will be forwarded to the appropriate Dean for priority ranking. 

Award recipients will be notified by April 28, 2021.

Awardees will submit a report stating whether the funded project was successful in reaching expected outcomes no later than 30 days after the date of completion.  Include a table with both the original proposed budget and the actual final expenditures in separate columns. Failure to submit a report may disqualify recipients from future awards.


Download the Schillig cover page here

Download a sample Schillig Teaching Project proposal 

Ottilie Schillig Teaching Project award recipients